8 Beatitudes of Christ

8 Beatitudes of Christ – Sermon on the Mount

Bible Study Lessons from Matthew- 5:1-12

You’ve probably heard of the the famous sermon on the mount from the books in Matthew where Jesus gave His 8 beatitudes including one of the most quoted; “blessed are the meek“.

Maybe you use some of them now as an example for daily living.

But, have you read them lately?

What are Beatitudes?

Out of curiosity, I looked up some definitions of the word “beatitude” and found many were interesting. However, this one (paraphrased) represents them best.

It simply states that the beatitudes are often referred to as proverbs. And, each beatitude is full of meaning and worth studying.

Basically, these beatitudes portray a picture of a true disciple of God, according to many scholars.

With that said, the Bible study lesson today comes from Matthew 5 and gives all 8 of Jesus’ beatitudes

This guide Christ gave us for living deserves a repeat, don’t you agree?

Sermon on the Mount – The 8 Beatitudes of Christ

“When Jesus saw the crowds, He went up on the mountain; and after He sat down, His disciples came to Him.

He opened His mouth and began to teach them, saying,

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

“Blessed are the gentle, for they shall inherit the earth.

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

“Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.

“Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.

“Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.

“Blessed are those who have been persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

“Blessed are you when people insult you and persecute you, and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of Me.

Rejoice and be glad, for your reward in heaven is great; for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.” – Matthew- 5:1-12 NASB

Guide from Sermon on the Mount

These verses concentrate on the 8 Beatitudes given by Jesus in his famous “Sermon on the Mount“.

And, the teachings of Jesus present a wonderful guide for living our lives as Christians.

For instance, Jesus taught in verse three that if we give all we have for Him, we will be blessed in heaven.

The verse says:

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.”

“Light Unto the World”

There are times when we have to say or do things that contradict the way the world thinks and believes.

Christ says we are to be “in the world” but not “of the world“. This means our light shines to those around us by our words and actions.

Christ Taught Love

Sermon on the MountAccording to Jesus, we must remain in a loving state — even when it seems that no one loves us in return.

Sure, this is easy to say. But, it can be an unbelievably difficult road to follow.

According to the Sermon on the Mount, if we continue to love those who hate us because we are Christians, we are following Christ’s’ way of thinking.

To quote a not-so-popular President Richard Nixon in his farewell speech at the White House, it went something like;


Others may hate you but, they only win if you hate them back.

What Did Jesus Do? He Lived the Beatitudes

Christ loved the people who would crucify Him.

And yes, many people of the day hated Jesus.

But, He never stopped loving them, even up till the time of His death.

Jesus was willing to die a horrible death on the cross because of His great love for us.

So, what are we willing to do for Him?

Love in Christ

– Bob

If you would like to have more information about the love and life-changing experience of Jesus Christ, please take a moment to read John 3:16.


I hope this lesson from the 8 beatitudes of Christ inspires you (and me) to change the way we think of others. Thank you for visiting and come back soon for other Bible study.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.